2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner
  • Rockies’ Michael Cuddyer nominated for Hank Aaron Award

    Mon, October 7, 2013 by Joe Paisley with no comments

    rockies logoMajor League Baseball and MLB Advanced Media announced that Michael Cuddyer was named the Colorado Rockies nominee for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award.

    Fans can vote exclusively online at MLB.com  and the 30 club sites. For the fourth straight year, a special panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award, which is officially sanctioned by Major League Baseball and has recognized the most outstanding offensive performer in each League since it was established in 1999.

    Cuddyer, 34, won his first career batting title by leading the National League with a .331 mark in what was his second season in Colorado. Cuddyer was named to his second career All-Star team in 2013 (also 2011 with Minnesota), and finished the season with a batting line of: .331 average, 162 hits, 31 doubles, 3 triples, 20 home runs, 84 RBI, 74 runs, .389 on-base percentage, .530 slugging percentage. The Norfolk, VA native set career-highs batting average, on-base percentage, slugging percentage and OPS (.919) this season. The 2013 season marked Cuddyer’s fifth career season with at least 30 doubles, and his fourth career season with at least 20 home runs and at least 80 RBI.

    The Hall of Fame panel led by Aaron includes some of the greatest offensive players of all-time –Roberto Alomar, Johnny Bench, Tony Gwynn, Paul Molitor, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount.  These Hall of Famers – who combined for 17,629 hits, 8,278 RBI and 1,723 home runs – have all been personally selected by Hank Aaron to lend their expertise to select the best offensive performer in each League. 

    Through October 10, fans will have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list comprising of one finalist per Club. The winners of the 2013 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2013 World Series.

         The finalists for the 2013 Hank Aaron Award are:

    American League

    National League

    Baltimore Orioles

    Chris Davis

    Arizona Diamondbacks

    Paul Goldschmidt

    Boston Red Sox

    David Ortiz

    Atlanta Braves

    Freddie Freeman

    Chicago White Sox

    Alexei Ramirez

    Chicago Cubs

    Nate Schierholtz

    Cleveland Indians

    Jason Kipnis

    Cincinnati Reds

    Jay Bruce

    Detroit Tigers

    Miguel Cabrera

    Colorado Rockies

    Michael Cuddyer

    Houston Astros

    Jason Castro

    Los Angeles Dodgers

    Hanley Ramirez

    Kansas City Royals

    Eric Hosmer

    Miami Marlins

    Giancarlo Stanton

    LA Angels of Anaheim

    Mike Trout

    Milwaukee Brewers

    Carlos Gomez

    Minnesota Twins

    Joe Mauer

    New York Mets

    David Wright

    New York Yankees

    Robinson Cano

    Philadelphia Phillies

    Domonic Brown

    Oakland Athletics

    Josh Donaldson

    Pittsburgh Pirates

    Andrew McCutchen

    Seattle Mariners

    Kendrys Morales

    St. Louis Cardinals

    Matt Carpenter

    Tampa Bay Rays

    Evan Longoria

    San Diego Padres

    Will Venable

    Texas Rangers

    Adrian Beltre

    San Francisco Giants

    Hunter Pence

    Toronto Blue Jays

    Edwin Encarnacion

    Washington Nationals

    Jayson Werth

          The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of Aaron breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record, and, at that time, was the first major award introduced by Major League Baseball in more than 25 years. 

  • Dickerson, Ryan Wheeler named to all-PCL team

    Mon, August 26, 2013 by Joe Paisley with no comments

    Two current Colorado Rockies players – Corey Dickerson and Ryan Wheeler — were named to the 2013 All-Pacific Coast League Team today, as picked by the league’s field managers and media representatives.

    t551_main_logoThird baseman Ryan Wheeler has now made the PCL Mid-Season and Post-Season All-Star teams in each of the last two years.

    Outfielder Corey Dickerson is batting .371 in the PCL this season, but his 75 games played are not enough to qualify him amongst the league leaders in average.

    The other infielders are: Salt Lake’s Efren Navarro at first base, Tucson’s Dean Anna at second and Chris Owings of Reno at shortstop. Anna leads the league with a .333 average while Owings and Navarro are close behind at .331 and .326, respectively. Catcher Stephen Vogt(.324, 13 home runs) and designated hitter Brock Peterson of Memphis (PCL-leading 24 homers).

    The outfielders are Albuquerque’s Nick “Chili” Buss, who leads the league with 94 RBIs. Sacramento’s Michael Choice is second in the league in RBIs (88), and fourth in both runs (89) and hits (147).

    Nashville’s Johnny Hellweg is the leading vote-getter for right-handed starting pitchers while Brian Flynn of New Orleans had the most votes for a left-handed starter. Hellweg, 11-5 with a 3.16 ERA, leads the league with a .226 average against, while Flynn (6-10), leads the league with a 2.86 ERA.

    Chris Hatcher of New Orleans is the All-PCL relief pitcher (league-leading 32 saves, 57 appearances).

    Colorado Springs, New Orleans, and Sacramento have a league-high two representatives each, while Albuquerque, Memphis, Nashville, Reno, Salt Lake, and Tucson each have one.