2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Interesting facts about Rockies and Gold Gloves

Published: October 30, 2013, 10:20 am, by Joe Paisley

Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado and outfielder Carlos Gonzalez received Gold Glove Awards on Tuesday.

Here are some interesting notes provided by the Rockies:

  • 2013 represents the fourth time that multiple Rockies have been awarded a Gold Glove in the same season. In 2001 and 2002 Todd Helton (1B) and Larry Walker (OF), and in 2010 Carlos Gonzalez (OF) and Troy Tulowitzki (SS)..
  • Arenado is the first Rockies rookie to win a Gold Glove.
  • Arenado is the 10th Rookie, and second rookie third baseman, in Major League history to be awarded a Rawlings Gold Glove since the award’s inception in 1957.