2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Space Foundation announces lifetime achievement recipient

Published: January 28, 2014, 10:49 am, by Carol McGraw

The mission director of the 1976 Viking landing on Mars will receive this year’s lifetime achievement award from the  Space Foundation.

A. Thomas Young will be presented with the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award .

Young  will be honored May 21 at t a luncheon  at The Broadmoor, the foundation announced in an email.

Young was nominated by Gen. Thomas Moorman Jr., USAF (ret.), former head of the Air Force Space Command.

Thomas was with NASA for 20 years, where he was deputy director of the Ames Research Center; director of Planetary Program, Office of Space Science; and director of the Goddard Spaceflight Center. He is a recipient of the  NASA’s highest award, the Distinguished Service Medal.