• Slavin leads team award honorees

    Sun, April 6, 2014 by Joe Paisley with no comments

    SlavinWith the announcement of Tigers coach Scott Owens’ resignation, Colorado College did not name its captains for next season.

    But it did take time to recognize freshman defenseman Jaccob Slavin, who garnered three awards: top scorer, Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player.

    “They have a great attitude in this program that helped me a lot,” Slavin said.

    Senior Eamonn McDermott also garnered multiple awards, sharing the scholar-athlete award with senior Alexander Krushelnyski and the sportsmanship honor with senior center Jeff Collett.

    “It’s bittersweet because you don’t want to leave,” Collett said.

    Senior wing Michael Morin took home the inaugural Scott Winkler Award for his “humility, optimism and support,” that reflected the personality of the former player who died of an undiagnosed heart condition last June.

    The banquet ended a tough season for the Tigers (7-24-6) but senior goalie Josh Thorimbert said the team had reason to hold their heads high.

     “We played with heart the entire year and we should be proud of that,” he said.

    Colorado College team award-winners

    Thayer Tutt Award (MVP) — Freshman defenseman Jaccob Slavin, STATS

    Paul Markovich Award (top scholar-athlete) – Senior defenseman Eamonn McDermott; senior wing Alexander Krushelnyski

    Bob Johnson Award (top freshman) – Slavin

    Dave Peterson Award (most improved) – Junior wing Scott Wamsganz

    M.B. Hopper Award (top scorer) – Slavin

    Rodman Award (sportsmanship) – McDermott; senior center Jeff Collett

    Scott Winkler Award (humility, optimism, support) – Senior wing Michael Morin

    Steve Ebert Award (dedication, desire, ability and sportsmanship) – Senior goalie Josh Thorimbert

    Joni Brandner Memorial Award (dedication to Tiger hockey) – student statistician Victoria Thomas.

  • Fabian garners AHA sportsmanship award

    Fri, March 21, 2014 by Joe Paisley with no comments

    FabianAir Force senior Jason Fabian is the co-recipient of the Atlantic Hockey Association Individual Sportsmanship award as voted on by the league’s coaches. Mercyhurst defenseman Nick Jones shares the award with Fabian.

    Fabian, who played in nearly every situation including power play, penalty kill and extra-attacker offense and defense, played in all 39 games and was called for just two penalties for four minutes all season. He finished the season fifth on the team in scoring with 19 points (11 assists).

    He was Air Force’s top faceoff man, winning 380 faceoffs this season, No. 22 in the nation. His 54.8 faceoff percentage was the ninth best in the nation among players who won more than 375 draws. The Roseau, Minn., center blocked 27 shots, the best among the AFA forwards.

    Fabian is the first Falcon to ever win the AHA Individual Sportsmanship Award.

    Mercyhurst goalie Jimmy Sarjeant was named the AHA Player of the Year, while his coach Rick Gotkin earned Coach of the Year honors. Mercyhurst’s Dan O’Donoghue was named the AHA’s Best Defensive Forward, Laker Nick Jones was named the Best Defenseman. Sacred Heart’s Justin Danforth was named the AHA Rookie of the Year.

  • Air Force’s Torf up for goalie award

    Fri, February 28, 2014 by Joe Paisley with no comments

    afa vs uaaAir Force senior Jason Torf and three NCHC goalies — Denver’s Sam Brittain, Minnesota-Duluth’s Aaron Crandall and Ryan Faragher of St. Cloud State — are up for the inaugural Mike Richter Award.

    The award is presented by the Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation and will be presented at the 2014 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Philadelphia.

    Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 59 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner will be selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

    Criteria to be considered include: display outstanding skills on the ice, be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university, consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship, candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season and community service.

    2014 Mike Richter Award candidates:

    Sam Brittain, Denver                       

    Aaron Crandall, Minnesota-Duluth                                     

    Thatcher Demko, Boston College                                      

    Ryan Faragher, St. Cloud State                                         

    Jon Gillies, Providence                                                    

    Connor Hellebuyck, UMass Lowell                                     

    Jake Hildebrand, Michigan State                                       

    Andy Iles, Cornell                                     

    C.J. Motte, Ferris State                             

    Zach Nagelvoort, Michigan                                              

    Martin Oullette, Maine                                                     

    Joel Rumpel, Wisconsin                                                   

    Jimmy Sarjeant, Mercyhurst                                             

    Colin Stevens, Union                                                      

    Steve Summerhays, Notre Dame                                      

    Jason Torf, Air Force                                

    Adam Wilcox, Minnesota                                                 

    Clay Witt, Northeastern    

  • Tuesday reading: Denver mascot candidates, WMU academic issues, WCHA

    Tue, July 2, 2013 by Joe Paisley with 2 comments

    DU mascotsThe three finalists for the new Denver mascot were announced late last week. What do you think?

    One of the best returning defensemen for Western Michigan is academically ineligible for the first half of the season (fall semester).

    “At this point, he’s not going to be playing until at least Christmas,” coach Andy Murray, who did not go into detail about Garrett Haar’s situation, told Mlive.com. “He did not live up to Bronco Hockey athletic and academic standards.”

    The 6-foot, 202-pound Haar played in 22 games last season with nine points (6 assists) and a minus-3 rating.

    Three WCHA commits/players were selected in the NHL Draft.