2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Thursday reading: Frozen 4 previews, CC coach opening, CLASS award honorees

Published: April 10, 2014, 1:31 pm, by Joe Paisley

I wrote a feature on Colorado Springs native and Minnesota fourth-liner Tom Serratore  while columnist David Ramsey says UM assistant Mike Guentzel is his favorite candidate for the open CC job.

Here is a preview of this afternoons Frozen Four national semifinals. Here are preview notes for tonight’s Minnesota-North Dakota semifinal, where (it seems strange to type this) many consider UND the underdog. The Philadelphia media noticed there is a rivalry between UM and UND.

RPI’s Brock Higgs was named as this year’s CLASS award winner. The acronym stands for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

Denver goalie Sam Brittain was named to the first team while Nebraska-Omaha forward Ryan Walters made the second team.

Senior CLASS Award

First team – Sam Brittain, Denver; Greg Carey, St. Lawrence; Kyle Gibbons, Canisius; Brock Higgs, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; and Andy Iles, Cornell.

Second team — Scott Czarnowczan, Ferris State; Cole Ikkala, Union (N.Y.); Dennis Robertson, Brown; Ryan Walters, Nebraska-Omaha; and Matt Zarbo, Clarkson.