2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Slavin leads team award honorees

Published: April 6, 2014, 7:04 pm, by Joe Paisley

SlavinWith the announcement of Tigers coach Scott Owens’ resignation, Colorado College did not name its captains for next season.

But it did take time to recognize freshman defenseman Jaccob Slavin, who garnered three awards: top scorer, Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player.

“They have a great attitude in this program that helped me a lot,” Slavin said.

Senior Eamonn McDermott also garnered multiple awards, sharing the scholar-athlete award with senior Alexander Krushelnyski and the sportsmanship honor with senior center Jeff Collett.

“It’s bittersweet because you don’t want to leave,” Collett said.

Senior wing Michael Morin took home the inaugural Scott Winkler Award for his “humility, optimism and support,” that reflected the personality of the former player who died of an undiagnosed heart condition last June.

The banquet ended a tough season for the Tigers (7-24-6) but senior goalie Josh Thorimbert said the team had reason to hold their heads high.

 “We played with heart the entire year and we should be proud of that,” he said.

Colorado College team award-winners

Thayer Tutt Award (MVP) — Freshman defenseman Jaccob Slavin, STATS

Paul Markovich Award (top scholar-athlete) – Senior defenseman Eamonn McDermott; senior wing Alexander Krushelnyski

Bob Johnson Award (top freshman) – Slavin

Dave Peterson Award (most improved) – Junior wing Scott Wamsganz

M.B. Hopper Award (top scorer) – Slavin

Rodman Award (sportsmanship) – McDermott; senior center Jeff Collett

Scott Winkler Award (humility, optimism, support) – Senior wing Michael Morin

Steve Ebert Award (dedication, desire, ability and sportsmanship) – Senior goalie Josh Thorimbert

Joni Brandner Memorial Award (dedication to Tiger hockey) – student statistician Victoria Thomas.