2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Air Force announces captains, honorees

Published: April 6, 2014, 5:17 pm, by Joe Paisley

mckenzie-gazetteAir Force and Colorado College recognized their players’ achievements at team award banquets on Sunday with the Falcons also announcing leaders for next season.

Juniors George Michalke III and Dan Weissenhofer were both named as co-captains for the Falcons.

Michalke also garnered the team’s most inspirational award after returning from a head injury that ended his sophomore season in October 2012. The forward played 32 games this season (20 points).

Defenseman Weissenhofer was named as the Defensive Player of the Year thanks to a plus-11 rating. He and the other juniors, including team MVP Cole Gunner (44 points), are anxious to get started.

“That is exactly how we all feel,” Weissenhofer said. “We are ready to get the season going knowing we have just one more year to win a championship.”

Here are the team award winners for Air Force from this past season.

Chuck Delich Award (team MVP) — Junior forward Cole Gunner, a second team Atlantic Hockey Association honoree, led Falcons with 44 points (15 goals).

Defensive Player of the Year — Junior Dan Weissenhofer was a team-best plus-11 this season with 15 points.

Jim Bowman Award (top scholar-athlete) — Senior defenseman Adam McKenzie, an aeronautical engineering major with 3.86 grade-point average and three-time AHA all-academic honoree was a second-team all-conference blue-liner (18 points, seven goals).

Vic Heyliger Award  (dedication, character, leadership and work ethic) — Senior forward Ryan Timar recorded career-high seven goals and 14 points, 28 blocks.

Most Improved Player — Senior forward Mitch Torrel played in just 25 games and had two assists his first three years. This season, he played in 28 and was for fourth on the team with eight goals.

John Matchefts Award (top freshman) – Defenseman Johnny Hrabovsky was one of just seven Falcons to play in every game (10 points, eight assists, 38 shot blocks).

Larry Cronk Award (inspirational player) — Junior forward George Michalke III missed almost all of last season to injury, but returned this season to record 20 points and win team-best 59 percent of his faceoffs.