2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Slavin named to all-College Hockey News rookie team

Published: April 3, 2014, 11:13 am, by Joe Paisley

SlavinColorado College defenseman Jaccob Slavin, recently voted Rookie of the Year by the National Collegiate Hockey Conference, was named to College Hockey News’ all-rookie team.

The freshman blue-liner from Erie, who recorded a team-high 25 points (20 assists) in 32 appearances was named to both the All-NCHC second team and all-rookie Team. He earned conference Player of the Week recognition three times in his college debut season.

The Carolina draft pick (fourth, 2012) was second nationally among freshman defensemen with .78 points per game. He led all NCHC defensemen with that mark as well as .95 points per contest (5g,14a) in 20 league outings, and was second to Nebraska Omaha forward Jake Guentzel among all NCHC rookies in both categories.
He played for Team USA at the 2014 IIHF Junior World Championships in Sweden this past winter.

Here are the complete All-CHN teams announced on Wednesday:
First Team

Forwards – Johnny Gaudreau, Jr., Boston College; Josh Archibald, Jr., Nebraska-Omaha; Kevin Hayes, Sr., Boston College.

Defensemen – Shayne Gostisbehere, Jr., Union; Dillon Simpson, Sr., North Dakota.

Goalie – Adam Wilcox, So., Minnesota
Second Team

Forwards – Nic Dowd, Sr., St. Cloud State; Daniel Carr, Sr., Union; Greg Carey, Sr., St. Lawrence.

Defensemen – Jake McCabe, Sr., Wisconsin; Mike Reilly, So., Minnesota.

Goalie – Connor Hellebuyck, So., UMass-Lowell
Rookie Team

Forwards – Sam Anas, Quinnipiac; Hudson Fasching, Minnesota; JT Compher, Michigan.

Defensemen –  Jaccob Slavin, Colorado College; Steve Santini, Boston College; Gavin Bayreuther, St. Lawrence.

Goalie – Cole Huggins, Minnesota State.