2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Wednesday reading: J. Schwartz, Bachman, another NCAA first-time champ?

Published: March 26, 2014, 9:32 am, by Joe Paisley

Jaden picThis just in:  Former Tiger Jaden Schwartz is pretty darn good.

Oklahoma City goalie Richard Bachman made 33 saves in his team’s 2-1 win over San Antonio to earn the game’s No. 1 star.

From College Hockey Inc: The odds of another first-time NCAA champion are high  judging from the first-round match-ups. Two of the last three years the national champion was a team that had never won it before (Minnesota Duluth in 2011, Yale in 2013).

Only five teams in the  2014  tourney have won national titles before, and four of them face off in the first round: Denver (7), North Dakota (7), Wisconsin (6), Boston College (5) and Minnesota (5). The 11 others enter in search of their first championships.

NHL teammates whose alma maters face off in the first round of the NCAA Tournament include Zach Parise (North Dakota) and Ryan Suter/Dany Heatley (Wisconsin) in Minnesota and Paul Carey (Boston College) and Paul Stastny (Denver) in Colorado.

Michigan’s Phil Di Giuseppe signed with Carolina for $675,000 in 2014-15, $725,000 in 2015-16 and $775,000 in 2016-17 according to ESPN.

And finally, although I should know better, this column on Dallas’ Rich Peverley made me say “Wow” out loud this morning.