2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

McDermott, Slavin receive NCHC awards

Published: March 20, 2014, 6:39 pm, by Joe Paisley

Slavin2013-14McDermott2013-14Two Tigers were among the National Collegiate Hockey Conference inaugural annual award winners.

Colorado College freshman defenseman Jaccob Slavin took home the Rookie of the Year award while senior defenseman Eamonn McDermott received the sportsmanship honor.

Slavin, a Carolina Hurricanes draft pick, tied for the lead by a defenseman with 19 points in conference play, while ranking third among rookies. His 14 assists were the most of any blue-liner and second among freshmen in the conference, while tallying five goals in conference play. The two-time rookie of the week and one-time defenseman honoree  made 46 shot blocks to lead all freshmen in NCHC action.

Slavin, who led the Tigers in scoring with 25 points (20 assists), earlier was voted to both the All-NCHC Second Team and NCHC All-Rookie Team. He finished second nationally among freshman defensemen with .78 points per game.

McDermott was second on the Tigers with 60 blocked shots, while committing just 13 penalties. The economics major and captain served on the CC student-athlete advisory council for three years. He was active in several community service activities and earned academic all-conference honors this season.

Here are the other honorees: Herb Brooks Coach of the Year, Bob Motzko, St. Cloud State; Player of the Year and Forward of the Year, Josh Archibald, Nebraska-Omaha; Goaltender of the Year, Sam Brittain, Denver; Defenseman of the Year and Offensive Defenseman of the Year, Joey LaLeggia, Denver; Defensive Forward of the Year and  Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Nic Dowd, St. Cloud State.