2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

17 Tigers garner NCHC all-academic honors

Published: March 11, 2014, 3:56 pm, by Joe Paisley

Krushelnyski2013-14The NCHC announced its academic award winners with eight student-athletes named to the first league scholar-athlete team, while 133 NCHC student-athletes received Academic All-Conference honors.

The scholar-athlete team has one student-athlete from each of the eight NCHC institutions. Each school selected their recipient based on criteria that included having at least a 3.25 grade-point average and having competed in at least 25 percent of their teams’ games in their career. Team representatives also demonstrated athletic achievement on the ice and have given back to the community and/or the campus though service opportunities. To be eligible, a student-athlete must have completed a full year at their school.

The 2013-14 NCHC Scholar-Athlete Team includes CC senior Alexander Krushelnyski was named to the all-academic first team and is eligible for the inaugural NCHC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award with the winner being announced at the NCHC Awards Celebration March 20 in Minneapolis.

The other are: Western Michigan senior forward Chase Balisy[ St. Cloud State senior forward Nic Dowd, Minnesota-Duluth junior forward Adam Krause; Denver sophomore forward Gabe Levin, Miami sophomore forward Kevin Morris, Nebraska Omaha junior defenseman Brian O’Rourke and North Dakota senior defenseman Dillon Simpson.

Here are the CC honorees (17): Alexander Krushelnyski, Zach Aman, Jeff Collett, Hunter Fejes, Russell Finch, Luc Gerdes, Matt Hansen, Jared Hanson, Michael King, Courtney Lockwood, Peter Maric, Eamonn McDermott, Gustav Olofsson, Alex Roos, Archie Skalbeck, Peter Stoykewych, and Charlie Taft