2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Midweek reading: Tigers, NCHC commits

Published: February 5, 2014, 10:34 am, by Joe Paisley

Colorado College continues to mine the area clubs with a commit from Andrew “AJ” Vanderbeck  of the Colorado Rampage U16 team for the 2016-2017 season.  The midget minor team is based out of the Colorado Sports Center near Monument.

The forward competed in the USA Hockey National Festival this past summer. He leads the Tier I Elite League with 57 points (38 goals) this season. Expect to see the 5-foot-10, 170-pounder playing in the USHL next season to develop his game and physically mature.

Nebraska-Omaha has done a nice job recruiting the best Minnesota high school players with commits from four of the top 10 finalists for Mr. Hockey Minnesota:

Nebraska-Omaha: Phil Beaulieu, forward, Duluth East; Avery Peterson, forward, Grand Rapids; Steve Spinner, Forward, Luc Snuggerud, forward, both Eden Prairie.

Uncommitted: Tyler Cline, forward, Blaine; Nick Wolff, defense, Eagan.

North Dakota:  Zach Yon, forward, Roseau.

Ohio State: Tyler Nanne, defense, Edina.

St. Cloud State: Mitch Slattery, forward,  Hill-Murray.

UConn: Spencer Naas, forward, Benilde-St. Margaret’s.