2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Wednesday reading: Hobey Baker balloting, UMass-Lowell, bracketology, SHU

Published: February 27, 2013, 8:44 am, by Joe Paisley

NCAA Men's Frozen Four - Notre Dame v Minnesota DuluthWith less than two weeks remaining in Phase I of fan balloting to nominate this year’s Hobey Baker Award winner, more than 125,000 votes have been cast, surpassing the record number of votes received last year.

Awarded annually to college hockey’s top player, the  fan-voting phase will close on Sunday, March 10 at 10 p.m. MT. College hockey fans can visit the Hobey Baker web site to vote.

Alphabetically, the top eight vote-getters to date are: Ryan Dzingel – Ohio State; Johnny Gaudreau – Boston College; Corban Knight – North Dakota;  Drew LeBlanc – St. Cloud State; Greg Miller – Cornell; Wayne Simpson – Union; Frank Slubowski – Western Michigan; and Ryan Walters – Nebraska-Omaha.

The two CC nominees are Mike Boivin and Rylan Schwartz.

The fans’ vote accounts for  1 percent of the total ballot in selecting this year’s award recipient.

Award criteria include candidates emulating the exceptional character traits exhibited by the award’s namesake, Hobey Baker.  He was a World War I fighter pilot and was known as America’s greatest amateur athlete in his day, excelling at hockey and football at Princeton.

Important announcement dates are:

  • Top Ten list of candidates:  March 21
  • Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists:  April 3
  • Hobey Baker Award announcement:  April 12

That early-season home loss to No. 10 UMass-Lowell doesn’t look so bad now for CC fans. The RiverHawks downed Boston College Tuesday night to move into a four-way tie for first place in Hockey East.

The North Dakota beat writer takes his best stab at predicting the NCAA Tournament field.

Okay, I missed this earlier but Sacred Heart hired former baseball manager Bobby Valentine as its new AD. The NCAA meetings just got a whole lot more interesting.