2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

WR MacArthur receives Air Force football’s top award

Published: February 28, 2014, 8:57 pm, by Brent Briggeman

Receiver Ty MacArthur, who drew praise for both his talent and work ethic throughout an injury-filled career, won Air Force football’s top honor on Friday night as he was the recipient of the Brian Bullard Award.

Below is the full press release sent out by Air Force: 


Ty MacArthur takes home top honor at Air Force football banquet

Senior wins coveted Brian Bullard Award


                U.S. AIR FORCE ACADEMY, Colo. – Senior wide receiver Ty MacArthur won the Brian Bullard Memorial Award, the highest honor a Falcon football player can earn, at the annual Air Force Football banquet at the Academy.

                 MacArthur was limited to three games this season due to injury. He was the team’s top receiver prior to his injury with seven catches for 99 yards. He also had seven carries for 32 yards. MacArthur led the Falcons in received in 2012 with 24 catches for 411 yards. He finished his career with 35 catches for 611 yards and had a career-receiving average of 17.5 yards per catch.

             The Bullard Award, established in 1984 and voted on by the football team, is based on the criteria that typifies the late Brian Bullard – unselfishness, 110 percent effort, total team commitment and pride in his role on the team whether he’s a starter or not. Bullard was a 1982 graduate of Air Academy High School in Colorado Springs. He attended the Academy the following year and played on the football team for two years. During Thanksgiving vacation in 1983, Bullard and his girlfriend, fellow cadet Dianne Williams, died from carbon monoxide poisoning while returning from a trip to Kansas in a snow storm.




Brian Bullard Memorial Award Winners

2013       Ty MacArthur
2012       Jordan Eason
2011       Jonathan Warzeka
2010       Nathan Walker
2009       Ben Garland
2008       Shea Smith
2007       Drew Fowler, Garrett Rybak
2006       Gilberto Perez
2005       Denny Poland
2004       John Rudzinksi
2003       Monty Coleman, Joe Schieffer
2002       Tom Heier
2001       Zach Johnson
2000       Nate Beard, Matt Dayoc, Mike Gallagher
1999       Charlie Jackson
1998       Mike Tyler
1997       Chris Gizzi
1996       Lee Gutherie
1995       Brandon Wilkerson
1994       Steve Russ
1993       Will McCombs
1992       Grant Johnson
1991       Kette Dornbush
1990       Bill Price
1989       Lance McDowell
1988       Anthony Roberson
1987       Rip Burgwald
1986       Pat Evans
1985       Pat Malackowski
1984       Steve Kelly