2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Another honor for AFA’s Lyons, who is named to All-District VIII team

Published: March 12, 2013, 5:04 pm, by Brent Briggeman
Tuesday brought more honors were bestowed upon Air Force senior Michael Lyons, who was one of 10 players named to the All-District VIII team that includes Wyoming, Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada and Montana.
This comes a day after Lyons was named to the Mountain West first-team, the first such honor for a Falcons player in six years.
Here’s the full press release from Air Force on Lyons’ latest honor:
Michael Lyons Named to USBWA All-District Team
Air Force guard Michael Lyons was one of 10 players selected to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-District VIII team on Tuesday. The District VIII team comprises all Division I schools in Wyoming, Utah, Idaho, New Mexico, Colorado, Nevada and Montana.
Lyons, one of six Mountain West players on the team, was named to the all-Mountain West first-team on Monday. He is one of two players, along with Colorado’s Andrew Roberson, to be a repeat selection on the all-district from last year.
The 6-6 senior from Newport News, Va., leads the conference in scoring at 18.3 points per game and is fourth in the league in field-goal percentage at 47.2 percent. He was the only player in the Mountain West to post three 30+ point games in league play this season.
Roberson, who leads the nation in rebounding, was the District VIII Player of the Year, and Steve Alford of New Mexico was the Coach of the Year.
Other MW players honored on the District VIII team included New Mexico’s Kendall Williams and Alex Kirk, Colorado State’s Colton Iverson and UNLV’s Anthony Bennett and Anthony Marshall. Other members of the All-District VIII squad were Roberson and Spncer Dinwiddie of Colorado and Tyler Haws and Brandon Davies of BYU.