2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Any All-Mountain West snubs, Air Force fans?

Published: July 26, 2011, 12:53 pm, by admin

It’s tough to argue with Air Force getting four players on the preseason All-Mountain West team. Guard A.J. Wallerstein, defensive backs Jon Davis and Anthony Wright, and returner Jonathan Warzeka were on the team. Warzeka was named special teams player of the year.

I don’t know who else would have made it – running back Asher Clark and quarterback Tim Jefferson had very tough competition, and defensive linemen Zach Payne and Ryan Gardner will have to make a bigger name for themselves through this season – but if there’s any Falcons snubs, I’m sure you’ll let me know. Here’s the team, for reference:


QB – Kellen Moore, Boise State

RB – Ronnie Hillman, San Diego State; Doug Martin, Boise State

WR – Phillip Payne, UNLV; Josh Boyce, TCU

TE – Lucas Reed, New Mexico

OL – Nate Porter, Boise State; A.J. Wallerstein, Air Force; Kyle Dooley, TCU; Thomas Byrd, Boise State; Paul Madsen, Colorado State


DL – Billy Winn, Boise State; Shea McClellin, Boise State, Stansly Maponga, TCU; Josh Biezuns, Wyoming

LB – Tank Carder, TCU; Mychal Sisson, Colorado State; Miles Burris, San Diego State

DB – George Iloka, Boise State; Leon McFadden, San Diego State; Anthony Wright, Air Force; Jon Davis, Air Force


P – Brian Stahovich, TCU

K – James Aho, New Mexico

Ret. – Jonathan Warzeka, Air Force