2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Hockey: Falcons deliver on Senior Night

Published: February 27, 2011, 12:26 am, by admin

The Air Force hockey team paid tribute to its seven seniors Saturday night at Cadet Ice Arena before its regular-season finale against Robert Morris. Matt Becker, Sean Bertsch, Derrick Burnett, Scott Kozlak, Jacques Lamoureux, Blake Page and Brad Sellers were honored for their accomplishments along with their families and friends.

The Falcons responded with a 4-2 victory that featured goals from three seniors. With the win, Air Force earned a first-round bye in the Atlantic Hockey Association playoffs and will host a best-of-three quarterfinals series March 11-13.

The seniors make up the second-winningest class in Air Force history. Heading into the Atlantic Hockey Association playoffs, they have won 81 games (81-49-20), three shy of the Class of 2010’s record of 84.

The group won the AHA Championship and played in the NCAA Tournament as freshmen and sophomores in 2008 and 2009. They also played key roles in the team’s 2009 NCAA Tournament win over Michigan and advancement to the Elite Eight, the only service academy to do so.