2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Air Force Mostly Absent from All-MWC

Published: March 8, 2010, 5:01 pm, by admin

For the second season in a row, Air Force was the only program in the nine-team Mountain West Conference not to have a player make first-, second- or third-team All-MWC.

Evan Washington was the only Falcon to earn any recognition. The junior guard, who ranked second in the league in minutes per game (33.9) and averaged 10.4 points and a team-high 4.7 rebounds this season, was an honorable mention selection.

The league’s coaches and selected members of the media vote for the teams and submit ballots with 15 players (five on each team).

Prior to last season, Air Force had placed at least one player on the first, second or third teams for seven consecutive seasons.

First Team
G Jimmer Fredette (BYU, Jr.)
G Tre’Von Willis (UNLV, Jr.)
G Dairese Gary (New Mexico, Jr.)
G/F Darington Hobson (New Mexico, Jr.)
F Kawhi Leonard (San Diego State, Fr.)

Second Team
G Ronnie Moss (TCU, Soph.)
G Jackson Emery (BYU, Jr.)
F Andy Ogide (Colorado State, Jr.)
F Roman Martinez (New Mexico, Sr.)
F Malcolm Thomas (San Diego State, Jr.)

Third Team
G Tyler Haws (BYU, Fr.)
G Desmar Jackson (Wyoming, Fr.)
G Carlon Brown (Utah, Jr.)
G/F Chace Stanback (UNLV, So.)
G/F Jonathan Tavernari (BYU, Sr.)

Honorable Mention
Jr. G Evan Washington (Air Force), So. G Phillip McDonald (New Mexico), Jr. G D.J. Gay (San Diego State), Jr. F Billy White (San Diego State), Sr. F/C Zvonko Buljan (TCU), So. G Oscar Bellfield (UNLV), Sr. G Luka Drca (Utah), Fr. G Marshall Henderson (Utah).

All-Defensive Team
G Jackson Emery (BYU, Jr.)
G Dairese Gary (New Mexico, Jr.)
G Tre’Von Willis (UNLV, Jr.)
G/F Chace Stanback (UNLV, Soph.)
C David Foster (Utah, Soph.)

Player of the Year
G Darington Hobson (New Mexico, Jr.)

Defensive Player of the Year
C David Foster (Utah, Soph.)

Freshman of the Year
F Kawhi Leonard (San Diego State, Fr.)

Newcomer of the Year
G Darington Hobson (New Mexico, Jr.)

Sixth Man of the Year
F Jonathan Tavernari (BYU, Sr.)

Coach of the Year
Steve Alford (New Mexico)