2014 Pulitzer Prize Winner

Air Force Gets No Love

Published: July 22, 2008, 12:24 pm, by admin

Air Force was shut out of the Mountain West Conference’s 10th Anniversary football team released on Tuesday at the league’s media days.

The team, released in celebration of the Mountain West’s  10th anniversary, is composed of players who earned all-conference first-team honors at least once in their careers. The team was selected by a combined panel of media, institutional and conference personnel and an on-line fan poll.

Air Force was the only one of the league’s nine teams not to have a representative on the team.

Rampart High graduate Dexter Wynn, who played at Colorado State from 2000 to 2003, was named the team’s punt/kick returner.


Pos Name (School)                                              Years Played in MWC

QB Alex Smith (Utah)                                            2002-04

RB Luke Staley (BYU)                                          1999-01

RB DonTrell Moore (New Mexico)                       2002-05

WR David Anderson (CSU)                                  2002-05

WR Jovon Bouknight (Wyoming)                           2002-05

TE Jonny Harline (BYU)                                        2004-06

OL Ryan Cook (New Mexico)                              2002-05

OL Doug Kaufusi (Utah)                                       1999-01

OL Jordan Gross (Utah)                                        1999-02

OL Erik Pears (CSU)                                            2001-04

OL Adam Goldberg (Wyoming)                            1999-02


DL Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila (San Diego St.)            1999

DL Chase Ortiz (TCU)                                          2005-07

DL Brady Poppinga (BYU)                                   2001-04

DL Steve Fifita (Utah)                                           2002-05

LB Rob Morris (BYU)                                          1999

LB Kirk Morrison (San Diego St.)                         2001-04

LB Beau Bell (UNLV)                                           2004-07

DB Brian Urlacher (New Mexico)                          1999

DB Will Demps (San Diego State)                          1999-01

DB Jamaal Brimmer (UNLV)                                 2001-04

DB Eric Weddle (Utah)                                          2003-06


K John Sullivan (New Mexico)                               2004-07

P Matt Payne (BYU)                                              2001-04

Ret Dexter Wynn (CSU)                                        2000-03